The Tupelo Quarterly Poetry Prize


The Editors of Tupelo Quarterly are over the moon to announce that Brenda Hillman will judge the TQ7 Poetry Prize.

Ms. Hillman’s most recent collection from Wesleyan University Press, Seasonal Works with Letters on Fire (2013), received the International Griffin Poetry Prize, as well as the Northern California Book Award for Poetry and the California Book Award Gold Medal in Poetry. In a piece for The Huffington Post, Dean Rader wrote, “Seasonal Works With Letters On Fire is a profoundly humane work. In language that moves from the chatty to the experimental to the heightened to the rhetorical, Hillman shows us once again that poetry is itself a tireless worker, always on our behalf.”


Photo © Brett Hall Jones

Her previous eight collections, also with Wesleyan, include Cascadia (2001), Pieces of Air in the Epic (2005) and Practical Water(2009), winner of the Los Angeles TimesBook Award.

Included in their list of “50 of the Most Inspiring Authors in the World,” Poets & Writers states, “[Hillman] reminds us that the language we use when ordering a sandwich is also the language we use to make art. Her environmental concerns prove writers can offer more than just aesthetic pleasure.” Among the awards Hillman has received are the 2012 Academy of American Poets Fellowship, the 2005 William Carlos Williams Prize for poetry, and Fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts and the Guggenheim Foundation. Hillman is the Olivia Filippi Professor of Poetry at Saint Mary’s College in Moraga, California, where she teaches in the undergraduate and graduate programs.


The deadline for submissions is May 1. To read detailed guidelines and to submit your work, please visit our Submittable page.

  The 2015  Berkshire Prize for a First or Second Book of Poetry



Deadline:  April 30, 2015
(postmark or online submission date)
Final Judge:  Carol Frost
$3,000 Prize

The Berkshire Prize for a First or Second Book of Poetry is open to anyone writing in the English language, whether living in the United States or abroad. Translations are not eligible for this prize, nor are previously self-published books. Poets submitting work for consideration may be authors having published only one previous collection or writers without prior book publications. Previous winners includeLillian-Yvonne Bertram, Mary Molinary, Jennifer Militello, and Ye Chun.


Please click here for full guidelines.

Find us on FacebookFollow us on Twitter

  Tupelo Press, Books on Paper for 15 years

Leave a Reply